Uniworld Covid Cancellation Policy...why are cruises exempt from full refunds when airlines are not?

• Hi Guest, welcome to the help forum. You can get fast answers to your customer service questions here. We have a dedicated team of advocates who are ready to help. Just go to the section that matches your question and ask us!
  • If you've posted a question or issue for our advocates to assist with, please be sure to check back frequently for responses and requests for clarification.
  • Did you know you can get email notifications when something new posts to your favorite forum? It's easy. Just click the "watch" link right next to the "post new thread" button at the top of your favorite forum. The rest is easy. Now you'll never miss another conversation.
  • Want to become an expert user? Drop by the How to use this forum section and all will be revealed. We'll show you how to make the most of your experience.
May 12, 2020
I am a travel agent who booked a group of 6 couples on a June 10, 2020 sailing on a Uniworld Riverboat. This sailing was cancelled by Uniworld, and I was quite surprised to find that they would not offer a full refund to my clients. This was a 50th wedding anniversary celebration for each couple,and they do not want a voucher for future travel. They are asked to pay a $200 pp cx fee, plus the Uniworld Travel protection purchased at $499 pp will not be refunded. So couples who purchased insurance are out $1398.00 for a cruise that cancelled. Airlines by law cannot do that, as has been proven. They might try to skirt around it, but the law is on their side. Why not the same for cruise lines? These couples are all in their 70's and cannot contemplate getting on any cruise ship in the foreseeable future.
I want to add that I have other clients booked on a Viking River Cruise this summer, and they were offered a choice of a FULL refund or a Future Cruise Credit. That is what I believe is fair....to be given the choice.